Deftones Adrenaline Turns 20

The Audio Mug | October 03, 2015 - 11:54 pm
Adrenaline is an appropriate title for this, Deftones’ debut album, as all ten tracks explode with repressed energy. Unlike many of their contemporaries, Deftones are very controlled even in the midst of chaos. The musical attack is precise and well organized without sounding mechanical or soulless. Simply put, this music is the product of a good old-fashioned band, with every element of the music fitting together nicely. One of the practical ways in which this expresses itself is the way that Deftones groove, a skill that most nu-metal bands have somehow managed to lose along the way. Throw Abe Cunningham’s surprisingly sophisticated drumming into the mix, and you have a band that possesses a far greater degree of nuance than most others that work in the genre. If there is a weakness to Adrenaline, it is that there is a bit of sameness in Chino Moreno’s whispered vocal melodies, which drags the record down a bit. On later albums, the band’s progressive tendencies become more developed, but the more straight-ahead material on Adrenaline does not disappoint. A promising debut.

1. “Bored”
2. “Minus Blindfold”
3. “One Weak”
4. “Nosebleed”
5. “Lifter”
6. “Root”
7. “7 Words”
8. “Birthmark”
9. “Engine No. 9”
10. “Fireal”
11. “Fist”

Adrenaline is released on 10/3/95 via Maverick. Buy on iTunes/Amazon

Deftones: Website | Facebook | Twitter

Tags: ,

Leave A Comment