Incubus Fungus Amongus Turns 20

The Audio Mug | November 01, 2015 - 11:45 am
By The Audio Mug | November 1, 2015
Incubus independent debut is an unremarkable take on suburban MTV funk. While there’s much to dislike, notably frontman Brandon Boyd, who growls like he wants the voice of anybody but himself, there are also a few variants to the Hi-NRG game that wouldn’t be out of place with Fishbone or Primus. “Hilikus” is a funkier if more legible Rage Against the Machine, and “Shaft” works the sensible side of dancefloor metal, offering a strong collection of big noise, scratched records, and stripped and temperamental bass assaults. Though fans who arrived later will be surprised by its roughness, Fungus Amongus is a step removed from most of the empty-headed rap-metal army.

01 “You Will Be A Hot Dancer”
02 “Shaft!”
03 “Trouble in 421”
04 “Take Me To Your Leader”
05 “Medium”
06 “Speak Free”
07 “The Answer”
08 “Psychopsilocybin”
09 “Sink Beneath The Line”
10 “Hilikus”

Fungus Amongus is released on 11/1/95. Buy on iTunes/Amazon.

Incubus: Website | Facebook | Twitter

Tags: , ,

Leave A Comment